GBIF Ebbe Nielsen Challenge

In 2014, the GBIF Secretariat launched the inaugural GBIF Ebbe Nielsen Challenge, seeking innovative applications of open-access biodiversity data by scientists, informaticians, data modelers, cartographers and other experts. 

2016 Ebbe Nielsen Challenge Winners

1st Prize Exploring ignorance in space and time Alejandro Ruete
2nd Prizes sampbias Alexander Zizka, Alexandre Antonelli and Daniele Silvestro
nbsp; GBIF Coverage Assessment Tools Walter Jetz, Jeremy Malczyk,
Ajay Ranipeta, Luis J. Villanueva,
Carsten Meyer and Michelle Duong
Honourable Mention BioGeoBias Laurens Gefferts
  Towards global-scale species distribution models Aafke Schipper, Jasmijn Rost,
Daniela Remenska and Valerio Barbarossa
  crowdgap Jesus Orozco

Read news summary

2015 Ebbe Nielsen Challenge Winners

1st Prize GBIF dataset metrics Peter Desmet, Bart Aelterman &
Nicolas Noé
2nd Prize Richard Pyle (United States)
Finalists #myGBIF Tom August (United Kingdom)
  ecoSpace 2 Miguel Porto (Portugal)
  GBIF Soundscape Ben Raymond & Peter Neish
  Wallace: A Web App to Harness Biodiversity Data Robert P. Anderson, Matthew
Aiello-Lammens, Bob Muscarella,
Bruno Vilela & Jamie Kass
(United States, Denmark and Spain)

Read news summary

Young Researchers Award

The Young Researchers Award (YRA) is an annual award aimed at fostering innovative research and discovery in biodiversity informatics by encouraging graduate students to use GBIF-mediated data.

Two awards of €4,000 are available to graduate students in a master’s or doctoral programme. The 2016 call for nominations is now closed.

Previous winners

Ebbe Nielsen Prize

From 2002 to 2014, GBIF awarded the Ebbe Nielsen Prize to a person demonstrating excellence in combining biodiversity informatics and biosystematics research. The GBIF Governing Board established the Prize to honour the memory of Dr Ebbe Schmidt Nielsen, an inspirational leader in the fields of biosystematics and biodiversity informatics.

With the support of the Governing Board and under the guidance of the Science Committee, the Secretariat has adapted and revamped the Prize as an incentive competition beginning in 2015. 

Ebbe Nielsen Prize winners

  • 2014: Tony Rees (Australia)
  • 2013: Miguel Bastos Araújo (Portugal)
  • 2012: Nathan Swenson (United States)
  • 2011: Jens-Christian Svenning (Denmark)
  • 2010: Sujeevan Ratnasingham (Canada)
  • 2009: Andy Jarvis (Colombia)
  • 2008: Vince Stuart Smith (United Kingdom)
  • 2007: Paul Flemons (Australia)
  • 2006: John Wieczorek (United States)
  • 2005: Pablo Goloboff (Argentina)
  • 2004: Johan Nilsson (Sweden)
  • 2003: Stefan Schröder (Germany)
  • 2002: Nozomi Ytow (Japan)

Prize-winner presentations